Continuing Education in Operations Research

I just Googled “Continuing Education” AND “Operations Research”.  The top hit was a post on a blog of IE/OR tools that referred back to an earlier post on my blog.  My post was listed 7th on Google.

I’ll admit that I like my posts to be listed high by Google.  But I would much prefer it if it were listed lower because there were lots of other sites about continuing education in O.R.  Continuing education is of vital importance to our profession.  We need to take it seriously.

To be fair, there is a new INFORMS committee that is focused on strategic issues for our profession, including issues relating to continuing education.   I am in contact with the chair of the committee, Cynthia Barnhart.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

